



40th Annual General Meeting of

the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology Inc.,

held on the 16th of November 2020 via Zoom

1. Attendance

Brooke Howell (Chair), noted that a quorum was present in accordance with the constitution and declared the Annual General Meeting open at 5:22pm

Twenty four (24) members, were present as recorded for the webinar ID 942 1465 8237;

Jason Amos	Andy Clarke	Peter Hayes	Tony Robinson
Eveline Bartowsky	Peter Clingeleffer	Brooke Howell	Alex Sas
Paul Boss	Richard Fennessy	Patrick Iland	Alana Seabrook
Rob Bramley	Leigh Francis	Mark Krstic	Richard Smart
Nick Bulleid	Paul Grbin	Mardi Longbottom	Nadja Wallington
Dimitra Capone	Richard Hamilton	Paul Petrie	David Wollan

Four (4) members submitted proxy forms;

Gregory Dedman Duncan Hamm Amanda Tanga

Benjamin Gibson Matt Partridge

2. Apologies

Two (2) member's apologies were recorded. Mango Parker Cristian Varela

3. Confirmation of Minutes

Confirmation of minutes of the Annual General meeting held on the 12th of November 2019.

MOTION: *That the minutes of the 39th AGM are recorded as a true and correct record* moved Brooke Howell seconded Richard Hamilton

The motion was carried.

4. President's report.

The Chair presented the report to the members noting that reaching the 40th AGM was a significant milestone and wished to acknowledge the foresight of the founders and the efforts of all those who had served on the Board or contributed to the Society on advisory committees, planning committees and other advisory roles over the last forty years.

5. Treasurer's report

The Treasurer presented the audited financial reports for the year ended 30 June 2020 to the members.

The Treasurer summarised the report noting that the Society had incurred a loss for the financial year but the long-term outlook was good and that cash reserves were stable.

MOTION: That the audited Financial Statements as at the 30th June 2020 are received and adopted.

moved Brooke Howell seconded Anthony Robinson

The motion was carried.

6. Board elections

The Chair thanked outgoing Regional Directors Kristy Bartrop and Paul Grbin. The Chair noted that Kristy hade made an outstanding contribution to the Board having served as Treasurer for 7 of the 8 years she was on the Board and she had also contributed to the AWITC over a four-year period.

The stated that Paul had provided valuable experience and insight to both the Journal subcommittee, the Journal Advisory Committee and had also served on the AWITC Board.

The Chair reported the outcomes of the Regional election, noting that Andy Clarke had been re-elected Regional Director - Victoria and Richard Fennessy Regional Director - Western Australia, Queensland & Tasmania. The chair welcomed two newly elected Regional Directors Nadia Wallington (NSW & ACT) and Alana Seabrook (SA).

The chair advised members that Dr Eveline Bartowsky, , Mike Hayes, Brooke Howell, Dr Mardi Longbottom and Dr Anthony Robinson continue as General Directors.

The Chair thanked all candidates for their participation and acknowledged the other candidates for their desire and willingness to play a greater role in the Society.

7. Admission of Fellows of the Society

The chair stated the ASVO Board of Directors had decided that two members be granted honorary membership as Fellows of the Society.

The Chair announced that Wendy Cameron MW and Nick Bullied MW had been invited to become fellows of the ASVO and both had accepted the invitation.

Members viewed a pre-recorded video from both Wendy Cameron MW and Nick Bullied MW.

8. Other business

The Chair opened the meeting to questions from members.

David Wollan noted that his reading of the constitution was that it was not specific about virtual AGMs and quorums. Wollan advocated that this should be checked for the future in case a contentious matter arises. If it is thought necessary, an amendment of the rules should be proposed.

The Chair replied that in the absence of clarity in the Society's rules, the state rules of incorporation might apply.

The Chair took David comment on notice to check and report

The Chair invited all those present to raise any further matters that have not been dealt with on the agenda

There being no further business the Chair declared the meeting closed at 6:12pm



